Nicky and her Nikon

By NickyR

Happy New Year!

Firstly, thank you for the very kind and generous comments yesterday on my 9 year blip anniversary - I felt rather emotional reading all of them, and I appreciated each and every one of them. It's been fun and long may the fun continue!

Last night after supper we had a movie night and decided to watch Don't Look Up. I could not decide whether it was utter rubbish or a brilliant satire, a parody of America in the face of disaster. I think on reflection my opinion is the largely the former, as in Britain our satire is more subtle, less direct and this was all just a bit too much. But I am glad I watched it even if we all found it a bit stereotypical, and we did want to see it through to the end.

Today I met up with L the dog sitter, as Xena and I have not seen her for ages - Xena saw her car drive in to the car park at the woods and went crazy, she leapt out of the car when I opened the door and L got the warmest hello ever! We had a nice walk and bumped into Mathew Goode (I often see him around here) and L, who did not know who he is made a huge fuss of his dog and so we had a nice conversation with him about his new rescue dog from Romania! 

The boys all went to the driving range today, Gavin and Luke had a lesson - they are all a bit crazy about their golf. I caught up on laundry and ironing and then we all had lunch together. It did not rain today and we actually had some bright skies for a while, what a blessing!

Tonight we are having a Finish at Home Dinner from a posh restaurant, it is a four course dinner which has been largely prepared and you just need to heat up food or roast items for a short while, and then plate up. Usually the chef has a live video on Instagram at 6pm to show you how to plate up but because the restaurant is open tonight and is very busy he has included very comprehensive step by step written instructions so we know what to do. We are sad to be missing our Silvester dinner in Switzerland which we have done every year for the past 17 years except for last year and this year.

Happy New Year to you all, may the new year be a much better one which brings you good health and hopefully we finally can live without the shadow of Covid being omnipresent.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.