Nicky and her Nikon

By NickyR

New Years Eve

Thank yo so much for all the kind comments on my blip anniversary yesterday. I have read and enjoyed every comment, you say the kindest things - I probably will not have time to reply to each one as I need to get on with the new year's eve preparations now. 

Happy New Year to everyone - here is to a better year in 2021, and hopefully we will get control of the virus and life can return to some semblance of normality. I think many lessons have been learnt this year, and we have seen how humanity responds in a time of crisis, there have been so many acts of kindness that have been quite humbling to see. I was pleased to see many of those people were rewarded in the New Year's Honours List today.

It feels strange for us to be spending new year at home, as every year we are usually away in Switzerland. Today has been very cold, but without the magic of snow, so it is just freezing and dull. Even the poor dog shivers when she goes outside!  

Tonight we are going to enjoy a special meal - I am making the prawn starters and the main course of salmon, while Luke is doing all the side dishes and Adam has already made the pudding of creme brulee (which worked very well with lactose free cream). A joint effort so it won't be too much work for anyone. Some bubbly too, although as Technophobe said we have nothing to celebrate at the moment - other than our fortunate good health and the love of family. I haven't read the news today as it is all too depressing. Next week will be better....as it cannot possibly get any worse.

I have hardly been outdoors today, I took this shot of a frozen pond when we picked up Luke from the garage after he had dropped his car off for a new key fitting (the old key snapped off in the ignition!) 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.