Nicky and her Nikon

By NickyR

Blip Anniversary - 8 years

After moaning about being bored with my walks yesterday we planned a different walk today, and so drove for about 10 minutes to go walking around Denbies Vineyard. Unfortunately Gavin could not join us as he had an optician appointment but the boys came with me. It was quite busy there but walking outside it is easy to step aside and stay away from other people. We had a good walk, it is quite steep to the top of the hill overlooking the vineyard and then you walk back down again through the vines. I love the lines created by the vines and have added an extra of them.

So today is my blip anniversary, 8 years of blipping and never missing a day - I never thought I would ever reach this point, like many others when I started I only intended this to be a 365 day project but somehow once you start you cannot stop....the people in this community are wonderful and that is the main reason that I continue. Yesterday when I was having a little meltdown the encouragement I received is just proof of the kindness of my fellow blippers! 

Very good news today as the Oxford-AstraZeneca vaccine has been approved for use in the UK with the first vaccines starting on Monday next week. There are enough doses to vaccinate the entire adult population of the UK. As our health secretary said the approval is not just a "British success story" but a "victory for all" because the vaccine is affordable and can be stored at normal fridge temperatures. Bad news about the cases being higher than they were during the 1st wave and so more of the country has to go under Tier 4 which essentially is lockdown - three quarters of the population is now under Tier 4. No difference for us as we have been in Tier 4 for some time already.


Gavin collected our order for our New Years Eve dinner tomorrow - we are having prawns to start, and baked salmon and some Ottolenghi sides to accompany it. Adam is making the pudding - last night he made an awesome supper of a West African chicken dish with peanuts and some fiery spices, and we had lemon posset as pudding which was a test run for the NY dinner. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.