Nicky and her Nikon

By NickyR

3285 Blips = 9 years

I posted my first Blip on 2 January 2013. No one had told me about Blip or encouraged me to join – I had decided to do a 52 week photo challenge and in searching for a site on which to upload images, I came across Blipfoto. I was in Switzerland at the time, on a skiing holiday, and my first image was of a snowy scene….and then they were of Murdoch and the boys. Tommy was about to turn twelve years old, and so much has happened in the 9 years since then. The boys have grown up, we lost Murdoch, and the Vizsla princess has joined our family. I love Blip for providing wonderful memories of the past 9 years, and of course for the lovely people I have met on this site, some in person and some virtually as they live on the other side of the world. 

I remember that the first few weeks were so difficult, trying to remember to post a daily image, and to find a suitable subject. Now it is part of the fabric of my life, and the family have often helped to provide subject material or suffered been patient when my attention has been on journals and not them, so it is only appropriate that they form part of my anniversary image today. Thank you for the words of encouragement over the years.

We all went to Canterbury today for an outing. The poor weather lately has made me feel as if we are in lockdown as we have not been anywhere exciting, and so a trip to visit the cathedral city was planned as it also meant we could see my niece who lives there. The weather let us down (again) and it rained in the afternoon. We did not do much as we had Xena with us so we knew we could not visit the cathedral, but we wandered around the city then had a very mediocre lunch at a pub in the city with my niece and her family. Xena was very well behaved in the pub, more patient than my nearly three year old great niece, which is understandable, who wants to sit in a pub with adults when you are that age?

It was raining and misty on the journey home, and now a relaxing evening is on the cards.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.