Anne's Daily Encounters

By dutchdelight

Duet for me!

We bumped into one another on the street; the boys and I. These two eleven years olds were singing "Ta Kalanda"  the song for New Year's Day, like the USA kids do on Haloween. Going from door to door in their homely neighbourhood and singing the song for a sweet or some coins of money. They were happily willing to sing for me for my blip and ofcourse both got their euro from me ~ and ofcourse my motherheart melted for them... they reminded me of my boys when that age.

the first couplet of their song is:
Αρχιμηνιά κι αρχιχρονιά =New Month and New Year 
ψηλή μου δεντρολιβανιά = my tall rosemary
κι αρχή κι αρχή καλός μας χρόνος = and beginning of our good time
εκκλησιά εκκλησιά με τ΄άγιο θρόνο. = church, church with the holy throne


NYE here in Greece now and one more hour for 2021 to go till the count changes; Wishing you all a Happy New Year, with Love, Joy and Health! 


As we'll be away from home for January's first 3 days, I won't manage an entry then; I'll be here again of the 4th of Jan. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.