Arizona Dreamin’

By laurie54

Soggy Redstart

It rained and it rained, it stormed (winds surpassed 45 mph/72 kph), then it rained some more. After checking the radar and figuring I had a break from heaviest, I took a chance ride to Madera Canyon. I figured the place would be deserted (it was) and I wanted to say a prayer where Mom’s ashes were spread.

Just like yesterday, I hadn’t planned to take any photos. But when a bird you’ve never been able to capture lands nearby what choice did I have?  So, I gave it a try with my phone and transferred it to my computer so I could try to clean it up.  Oh, it’s a Painted Redstart. It’s not one of my best but you can tell the rain was a factor. I was surprised to see it, unless this is breeding season.  It's primarily a Central American bird.

Tonight I watched three Alfred Hitchcock classics: Rear Window, Vertigo and The Birds. All were on a 4K channel. It amazes me how such old films can be updated to 4K!

First hard freeze warning for Sunday night.  Temps will be around 25/-4.  Every time we get a hard freeze the TV forecasters go a little nuts with their "remember the 3 Ps ' pipes, plants and pets.'  I have to get some plant freeze cloths but I doubt the hardware stores will be open.

Wishing everyone the best for a less stressful 2022.  
Laurie   xx

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.