Jamjaragain

By Jamjar

I drove us to Longnor today for a walk Steve had planned. Well, when I say planned, he'd picked a card from his unused pack of Peak District walks, but that's ok. 

Neither of us had a compass, but luckily we didn't need one. Neither of us had the paper map but both had OS on our phones. Oh dear, what sort of mountaineers are we! Luckily the navigation was mostly easy, the weather was mostly grey but dry, the route was two miles more than expected and the elevation much more so! My legs didn't like the up, but I suppose I'm only just getting over being poorly. Steve says he's unfit but he's way more fit than I am, it's the running.

Quite funny really that when Steve and I walked together before, ie in 2016, he was very much in charge, I knew practically nothing. Since we split I've learned so much about gear, navigation, mountaineering, climbing, leading, multi-pitching, bailing, abseiling, kit, clothing.... everything! We're not equal, he has way loads more experience than I do, but I now have an input. Yay!

We saw a Great Spotted Woodpecker really close up, something I can't remember (!), several Wrens and a group of Bullfinches. Fab!

We got back to Longnor and went to Ye Olde Cheshire Cheese, Steve for a pint and me for a pot of tea :-)

Good walk, good day.

7.45 miles
1,051 ft elevation gain 

Last time I was in Longnor.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.