Home & Away

By HeidiAndDolly

Welcome, 2022!!

Although I’m usually up very early, I struggle to get motivated to walk in the morning. I’m not sure why, because I always enjoy the morning air! This morning I gave myself that extra push because I could see that there was going to be a good sunrise. Having seen the sun set on 2021 yesterday afternoon, I was eager to see it rise for the first time in 2022!

I wasn’t disappointed. The colour changed quite dramatically while I was out - the top picture was taken at 0755 and the one below was taken 45 minutes later. In between I walked around the park, sat and watched the sun rise, and had a long chat with a dog walker I’d not seen in a long time. It was a good start to a beautiful morning. We had lots of sun, although sadly it became dark and damp by lunchtime.

A big chunk of the rest of the day was taken up with watching cross-country skiing, this time from Oberstdorf in Germany. It was day 4 of the 6 days of the Tour de ski tournament. 6 days of skiing in 8 days, in 3 different countries. Yesterday we had two exciting long-distance races, 15k for the men and 10k for the women. Today’s races were sprints and sadly there was a huge upset in one of the women’s heats which caused a great deal of heartache for two of the top racers. It put a cloud on the whole day’s events and will change the outcome for the whole tournament. There’s always potential for lots of drama in the sprints!

Happy New Year everyone!! Hoping and praying for a happy and healthy 2022.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.