Marionb

By Marionb

A New Year....

and a new agenda...

January 1 has arrived with all its rituals chez moi....Rod Stewart's Auld Lang Syne playing over and over - loudly, and much enhanced by my singing, the hanging of the new family calendar that my daughter creates for all of us...(this year's cover photo? The summer cottage as it saved our sanity last year and will again this year) and the making of a whole  long list of very short-lived resolutions!   

Actually I usually don't get all that formal about resolutions, but I do like to spend the day in contemplation, looking back on the past year and ahead to the new one. In this pandemic, it seems important to me to do that..it would  be so easy to just sit back and let another year slip by unused, and at my age I cannot afford to waste years like that...So taking some time to judge how well I did last year in the keeping-up-spirits and being productive department and how I will try to do so in this new and challenging year...seems worth the time..I will not list my resolutions and strategies here, for I could then be held accountable... and they are meant as guidelines only....mere suggestions..

But ...I did start one today. It was resolved that I would try to sketch regularly - with pen - no pencils - no erasing - a fast sketch, not a drawing...no judging.. just do it.. Loosen up.. Build confidence...So I did. The sketch is all out of proportion ..a totally inaccurate representation - but who cares? I put pen to paper. It's a start...Chalk it up as a success..

I also pledged to keep up with Blipfoto and continue to get out and about in search of blips, fresh air and exercise. Today, although it was one of the most gloomy days we have had lately, my sister and I did get down to the lake. There was not much to photograph there but I managed to find one, only one, blip-op..(extra - since removed) ..but I can check that one off for today as well - Done!  

Two successes and it is only Day 1! There is hope. 


     

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.