Two on a Tower

Another mixed day - I thought I'd pop up to McCaig's Tower after lunch to clear up the debris from the firework display on New Year's Eve, but just as I was about to leave the heavens opened and I had to wait 'til the rain had passed! 

Maybe the firework folk would have come back tomorrow morning to clean up - 1st and 2nd are holidays in Scotland - but I'm not aware that this has happened before! Anyway there were a lot of visitors up there this afternoon and they shouldn't have to see all the plastic bits and pieces and cardboard discs from the fireworks. In my professional gardening life nobody was allowed to leave a mess uncleared when the public would come in the next day. No wonder people say they wouldn't have liked to work for me!

Just for fun I kept a tally of the individual bits I collected - over 1,200, of which a couple of dozen were cans and bottles. All the rest was firework debris. There were very many small pieces of polythene or similar which I couldn't pick up - just too many to deal with.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.