pocketfullononsense

By dunkyc

Theodore

When I headed back down south, I wasn’t sure if I would get to see my nephew as I think we were all anticipating a longer stay in hospital for my sister. I knew that regardless of that, and with time on my hands I just wanted to be with my family at this precious time.

Fortunately, my sister was quickly back home again with her lovely family and new son in tow. I felt lucky to get a cuddle the day after his birth, so on his second day I was delighted to be able to feed young Theodore (who demolished a bottle), burp him and have him fall asleep on me just before my hyper-allergic reaction to my sister’s cat kicked in.

Very proud to have a young nephew and know that, like his brilliant sister (of whom I am equally proud), he is in the best of hands with two kind adoring parents.

Prior to visiting them, I had spent a large part of the morning with my father over a rather disappointing and delayed fry-up breakfast at a local pub (how can you get a fry-up wrong?!) and then an afternoon walk to try and clear my nose and throat of the cat allergens.

The rest of the day was spent relaxing before finally, I had to get my stuff together and head for home - once again, the roads were kind and I made it home in good time, feeling sad that the holidays were drawing to a close, but grateful for the time spent with family and looking forward to seeing my own children tomorrow.

How lucky to have started this year surrounded by the ones I love and care about the most. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.