Off to Newfoundland

Out with the boys round the harbour, laying the junks. Joe's behind me on the tiller, I'm Mr Midshipman, and Iain and Robin are on the prow, looking out for narwhal. Afterwards we had a game of japs and commandos round the yard. And then legged it into the orchard to nick some apples.
Later, there was a meet up at the Guildford to sup some with the pensioner crew. Only six of us, but a fine time, ending up with a Scapa and something else. It'll come back to me if you give me time. And jeesus, it was chucking it down when I got off the bus. Shocker. That sobered me up.
This is a grand little read for all those of us who were teenagers in the sixties... and if you were only just a teenager, aye, like what I was, 21st Century Schizoid Man was where it was at.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.