Silhouettes.

Blue sky and wall to wall sun with icy puddles. Very cold and colder as the day went on. I'm moving slowly into earlier starts and the plan was to go to Kelty and photograph the Charles Jenks land art that never happened but I put it off.  I'm nervous about the parking and the walking but one of these days I'll get there.  Finished off the leftover hoovering from yesterday, put all the Christmas stuff into the loft and howked out the remainder of the ivy.  Just some periwinkle to go and I'll be ready for Alan whenever he comes.  Made copies of a photo to send to a cousin in law.  Her husband died a few years ago and this was an old pre-1930's photo of him aged about four or five with his brother and sister. It's so like the three of them, even in later life. Amended tomorrow's grocery order then went out to photograph a tree silhouette at Strath.  I'm having a go at some assignments in an old landscape workshop book. Stopped at the Pillars for milk and eggs.  When I got to the car park where the tree is a young couple were parked in front of it and didn't look like moving any time soon. Off I went along the Eden where I took the top two photos.  Came back and the couple hadn't moved so I drove to Gateside and returned to Strath  on the back road below the hills for the bottom two shots.  Love's young dream was still  in place.  Home to tea and toast. I was frozen.  The guy across the road was washing his motor bike and I felt there was a good chance it would become encased in ice.
 Was niggled that the photo I liked best of the couple and their dogs wasn't quite a silhouette and needed a fair bit of tweaking.  The Corston tower was nice but I'm always photographing it and the shape didn't appeal.  When I photographed the tree copse I was convinced it was the one until I saw it in Photoshop and I was never that struck by West Lomond. So I think I'll be doing silhouettes for a while somehow.  I'll keep my eye on the tree in the car park. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.