An ordinary life....

By Damnonii

It's official...

I am one of the 17, 259 new Covid19 cases reported on 4th January in Scotland.  There are 42 people in ICU and 1,147 people in hospital.
 
In light of those statistics, the fact I am sitting here in the comfort of my bedroom typing this with only a cough, a runny nose and fatigue makes me feel very lucky indeed.
 
When I got the text yesterday notifying me my PCR had tested positive, there was a link to an official website about research into Covid19 that requires volunteers who've recently been diagnosed. It's a clinical study called Panorama UK (info in extras)  looking at antiviral drugs and how they help covid sufferers.  I clicked and read the information and decided to fill in the online application form to take part in the study.  I felt it would be a small effort on my part to give something back 

I received a call this afternoon from one of the Research Nurses and he went over the information I provided and confirmed I met the criteria for the research, the main ones being I am over 50 years of age and recently diagnosed with mild to moderate symptoms.  He then talked me through what is involved in taking part, mainly keeping an online daily diary for 28 days and a couple of phone calls with a Research Nurse like him.  And of course taking the anti-viral drugs if I’m chosen by the “randomiser” (sounds like half man, half machine!)  to get them.  There's no placebo in the trial and I would take part whether I was taking the drugs or not.
 
Nearing the end of our conversation he added my details to the randomiser and the result is I am getting the drugs! Woo hoo! They will be here tomorrow morning and I will take 8 tablets a day (4 in the morning and 4 twelve hours later) for 5 days. 
 
I asked him why the research was aimed at people with mild to moderate symptoms and excluded those with severe symptoms, and why, if like me, one's symptoms are mild would one have the need to take them?  He said that those with severe symptoms are on a completely different treatment plan and the reason the anti-virals are given to those with mild-moderate symptoms is that regular patterns have emerged where those with mild to moderate symptoms can suddenly take a turn for the worse in Days 5 to 10, especially if they are over 50 and have underlying health conditions  (both apply to me) resulting in hospital admission and at times, death.
 
I was glad then that I am one of the chosen ones!!
 
Apparently, they will arrive by courier tomorrow morning and I've to begin taking them straight away.   Also, it appears that by agreeing to take part, everyone and their granny will be looking at my medical records but hey ho, it's for the greater good, and if they want to read all about my dodgy hips then good luck to them :-)
 
When I told Ele she asked me if I was worried about taking a trial drug and future effects it might have.  I told her it's an approved drug already, so I am hoping the decision won’t come back and bite me on the bum in a few years’ time.
 
That said, I would rather die from ill effects from using the drug in five years time than die from covid now!
 
On that cheery note, time to move on. 
 
Let me introduce you to Flo. She lives in our ensuite.   And that’s as much as I know about her.
 
Day 4 done.  6 more to go.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.