An ordinary life....

By Damnonii

Snap, crackle, pop!

The last time I did a test resulting in two lines indicating it was positive, was when I was pregnant. 

This time round I am not pregnant (would have been a belated Christmas miracle if I was!) and instead I can confirm I have joined the Not-so-Exclusive Covid Club!

First things first, my symptoms are very mild, nothing more than a head cold.  No fever, no headache, no breathlessness, no loss of taste or smell, and I am hoping things stay that way.  

David's PCR result is negative and Alan's LFT is negative too.  Phew!  I am hoping those we were in contact with on Hogmanay will also get negative PCR results.  So far their LFTs have been negative.

I am of course self-isolating in the bedroom so my blips for the next 10 days will be the epitome of rubbish, even more so than normal! 

But to back track...

I developed a dry, tickly cough early evening on NYD.  D and I both took an LFT.  His was negative, mine showed a very faint line only visible if you held the test in certain light.  To be safe we booked PCR tests for the next afternoon.  

Yesterday we headed up to the testing station in Perth (oh those poor souls standing in the freezing rain all day handing out tests and collecting them in again.  I hope they are getting paid a decent wage!) then it was a waiting game.  

We self isolated when we got home and took LFTs again later in the evening.  Again David's was negative but mine had a definite line.  I contacted everyone we'd been seen over New Year.  I am so glad now that we cancelled John & Norma coming up on 30th and Andrew, Nikki and Esme on NYD!

We received our PCR results a short while ago and as predicted mine is positive but miraculously David's is negative.  I hope he stays that way.  

Contacted everyone again with the PCR results.  This means Ele and Kenny and Agnes and Adrian will have to self-isolate for 10 days as under the current rules they count as household contacts because they were in our house for 8 hours or more during my infectious period (2 days before symptoms started and 10 days after.) 

On the bright side, once I am over this I will apparently be super immune and able to pull on my gold lamé hot pants and resume clubbing! 

Every cloud  ;-)))

PS In a strange coincidence, in the early stages of my pregnancy back in 1996,  I craved rice crispies.  I am craving them again!  Maybe I should do another test!!!!  hahahahahahhahahaha!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.