An ordinary life....

By Damnonii

Small victories...

This time last year the three of us were coming down with covid.  Poor Alan may not have covid now but he's having just as rubbish a start to this year :-(

Stopped giving him tummy milk again as he's just not keeping it down.  He looked so miserable when he got up.  Have started giving him dioralyte to help prevent him becoming dehydrated.  It's the strangest thing.  He still has a bit of a cold, feels hungry but can't keep his tummy milk down.  Seems ok with fluids.  He says his mouth is sore but won't let me look.  I suspect he may have some mouth ulcers which tends to happen when he's rundown.  Hoping to organise a house call from the GP tomorrow.   

The rest of the day has been spent with D taking down the Christmas decs.  I spent some time with Alan early afternoon and when I went through to the kitchen, the decs in there were gone and it all seemed to bare.  Normally by now I am ready to get the decs down but this year I am really sad to see them go.  The big tree in the living room is still so beautiful so I am hoping to persuade D to leave it till Friday.  I am going to miss its beautiful scent.

Spent a little while in the studio this afternoon and finished an art work that I began a few weeks before Christmas.  Also started two small paintings to be made into cards.

Made dinner then spent over an hour looking for my specs.  Re-traced all my steps around the house but no luck. I even accused David of wearing them!  Eventually I checked the bin (D had already looked there) and there they were inside the empty onion bag!  

One of Lola's Christmas gifts was a new food and water bowl set.  Her bowls have always been at floor level but many retriever breeders say raised bowls improve eating posture and relieves neck stress.  When we first put her dinner bowl in the stand she was a bit spooked by it and wouldn't eat from it, so we left it for a few days.  

Bonnie (the greyhound) eats from a raised bowl and when Lola saw her having her dinner and water from it, she was intrigued and had a few sniffs.  Decided today to try it again and after looking at it a little warily, her love of grub took over and in she went.  Success!  She certainly looks more comfortable eating from it than her bowl on the floor.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.