An ordinary life....

By Damnonii

We call her the Chocolate Girl...

Guess who's been eating Nutella? Or mozzarella as Esme calls it! :-))

We all slept well.  Andrew was up at 3am to take Bonnie outside to do her business but none of the rest of us heard a thing, including Lola, who slept through the sound of Bonnie's paws and Andrew's feet on the hall floor, and the noise of the front door opening.  Guarding abilities now in question! :-))

By the time I came downstairs the dishwasher had done it's job with last night's dishes and all the hand wash only crockery and glasses had been washed.  Impeccable timing on my part.

Andrew, Esme and Jen went for a session in the pool and we carefully timed brunch for them coming out again.  We don't have full cooked breakfasts (can it be called breakfast if it's being eating at 1pm? :-) that often but out of the times we do, I think my favourite is the family breakfast on 2nd January.  It earmarks the end of the Christmas overindulgence (not counting the last hurrah of the coffee, cake and chocolate later in the day :-) and the thought of healthier food is most welcome.

Esme didn't want any bacon or sausages and instead went for toasted pancakes with Nutella and some fresh fruit (strawberries, blueberries, mango and pineapple.)  You'd never guess she'd been eating Nutella :-)

After our relaxed brunch we got cleared up and Ele and Kenny prepared to go and visit Kenny's sister in Broughty-Ferry.  Andrew, Nikki and Esme headed home, dropping Jen off on their way.  I got the loveliest cuddle goodbye from Esme (thankfully her mouth had been washed!) 

Lola was much calmer around Bonnie today.  It took her all day yesterday to learn that Bonnie was not up for bouncing around all the time (greyhounds happily snooze for the majority of the day) or having her ears constantly licked, or playing bitey-face.  I saw Lola sitting looking at Bonnie and I am sure I could hear her asking herself "is she even a dog?!"  :-) But I am happy they are peaceful around one another and accepting of the other's space.  

After everyone had gone my plan had been to go to the studio to paint for a little while (my fingers are positively itching to get in there!) but I sat down with a cuppa in the peace of the garden room and nodded off before I was even half way through my coffee.  I snoozed for three hours!  

David fended for his own dinner as I was still full up from brunch.  In the end I had a cuppa and a bagel.  

I am pleased or report Alan had a settled night last night and looked a little better today (ie less gaunt and slightly less dark circles under his eyes)  He was hungry (been on water for almost 48 hours) so had some tummy milk down his peg and managed to keep that down.  Later in the afternoon he wanted a drink of milk, which D gave him, but then he was sick not long after, so just tummy milk for the rest of the day and that's stayed down.  Hoping with more meds today, he will be a bit brighter again tomorrow.  

We've gotten so used to him being in good health, I'd forgotten how much him being ill affects our emotions.  It's a true saying that we are only as happy as our unhappiest child.

Fingers and toes crossed for improvement tomorrow.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.