"day with sun making the snow sparkle"

Kd wished me a "day with sun making the snow sparkle." We got it! Droplets fell, the sun struck them, the air sparkled. 


The same place that, just days ago, without leaves or snow, was terribly dull, now looked like a movie set with dainty branches and interesting abstracts. Almost no one was in the park when we went out this morning so we had it all to ourselves.


The snow and accidents caused by the snow caused people on Interstate 95 to be trapped in their cars for 24 HOURS. They expect to have the highway open in time for rush hour tomorrow morning. About 90 minutes in I would have stopped drinking water. Some of them are out now - and in homes with no power. 


It may be icy tomorrow morning. 


We may get more snow Thursday. 


Maryland declared a state of emergency because of omicron. Our governor says the next 4-6 weeks may be the most challenging. 


I work with people who plan to hold an in-person meeting in mid-March. There was a conference in Manilla in June 2020 that I knew I would not be able to attend, even though my boss kept thinking things would be better. People going to conferences have to get authorization and payment months in advance. I knew we would not be done with Covid in time for people to sign up and pay for that conference. (I could not have conceived we were looking at years.) Given how bad rates are in Washington DC and that we will hit peak in late January, I just don't see a mid-March conference happening. (I didn't want to go in person anyway.) 


Stay safe. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.