Snowy Goldfinch

When you get 4 inches of snow, it's pretty to look at for a few days and you know that fairly soon it will be gone.  However, just a few miles to our south, in Virginia, they got over a foot of snow, which resulted in a 24+hour 50-mile long traffic jam on Interstate 95 which is the major north-south route. 

I believe there are still cars stranded on that stretch and it has been over 36 hours since the snow stopped.  It turned into a very dire situation for many people with no food or water, below-freezing temperatures, and cars running out of gas.  I believe all the people may have been rescued by now and it is now just stranded cars that have kept the highway closed. 

There was just enough snow for my husband to get the snowblower out and give it its first go in more than 3 years.  It's been two days now and I am already done with the snow.  I will be quite glad to see it all melt so I can get back outside with my camera.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.