Life Savors

By osuzanna

Mister and Missus

I had originally planned to go to Huntley Meadows this morning but had just decided not to go because of the reported icy trail conditions and so I was just settling in for another morning at home when Wendy called me to tell me that there was a Bald Eagle building a nest at Dyke Marsh.  That was all I needed to hear to get me out the door in a flash. 

It is about a 40-minute ride, so when I got there, no nest building was going on and it was pretty quiet, even Wendy was gone.   As I walked out along the trail I could see these two beauties up in a tree on an island in the river.  I maneuvered around to find to get as close as I could and as I was doing so, they started to mate.  I fired off my camera but it was over in a flash and they had been discrete by going to the back part of this tree so those shots weren't great.  After the romantic moment, they perched here for quite a while and I was able to get a shot that didn't have too many branches in the way.  

Please view it in large. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.