ELTERWATER

Thank you all so much for your lovely comments, stars and hearts for yesterdays trip to The Langdales, revisied today with Hubby in tow.

What a lousy night I had, no sleep apart from a doze for about one hour about 6.00 am!!!!  No reason other than my brain was still on holiday and kept thinkig of all the most stupid and mudane things and wouldn't switch up.  I got up twice but to no avail.

I almost cancelled going out today being so tired but as the weather was so gorgeous I decided we were still going out.  We arrived at Chesters at 10.00 am and managed to park easily in the adjacent car park. I had coffee and croissant, which was lovely but the coffee was even stronger than I like andI like it strong, but it didn'tmatter.  Hubby had a cinnamon bun with his coffee,which was enormous and more like a cinnamoned lardy cake, but delicious he said.

There were a lot of walkers today but we managed to keep well away.  Surprisingly although it was still bitterly cold there was less snow on the fells today, but still stunning scenery.  The car park in Elterwater was really busy and people circling around waiting for someone to leave, so I'm glad we didn't go all the way there on those narrow roads.

The little shop there seems to have closed until further notice and it didn't look as if The Britannia was open, but we didn't try so it may well have been.  A pretty little place to walk around, they even had a bus arrive whilst we were there - so good that there is a bus service.

We then just turned round and walked back.  We walked over the bridge above Skelwith Force and through the woods to get back to the car.  I noticed a lovely witchy weathervane near the end of the walk (see in extras) I have now discovered that there is another waterfall called, Colwith, I thin so I may have to investigate where that is for a future visit.  As well as maybe a trip to Loughrigg Tarn if it's not too difficult and a few other places.  However it will either be within the next couple of months or I'll wait until next winter as I wouldn't want to go there in the tourist season It would be heaving, it's just I don't like it like that.

 A really lovely walk though and good to have new places to add to my list for future visits.  

We then just drove home but stopped off at Lakeland for lunch.  Which was lovely but boy are the portions large.  I haven't been in a while so I'd forgotten how big they were, lesson learnt.

I'm now feeling really shattered as you can imagine so I will get round to commenting on your blips tomorrow.  Do take care everyone and stay safe.  See you all tomorrow.

I will be staying in now for a couple of days to cath up on housework things so  no more lovely scenic shots until next week, maybe!!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.