RIVER DEEP MOUNTAIN HIGH

A lovely day today, weather-wise and day out wise.

Hubby had things to do in town today and as the weather was so glorious, my favourite sort of weather (cold, clear, sunny and blue) I didn't want to stay in just doing housework, so I headed out.

I drove up The A590 to Newby Bridge, then down the A592 along the shores of Lake Windermere (again) and saw a dusting of snow on fell tops making it look stunning.  I was tempted to stop but didn't and pressed on. Drove past Ambleside, over the river and up the A592 to Chesters by the River.  Yeah for the first time ever I managed to park there and get in.  So I had coffee and a granola type thing (well it was only 10:15).  Then decided to walk along by the River Brathay as I've never done it before and the young waiter said it was a great place for photos.

I was surprised at how many people were around, a large queue for the Chesters takeaway service and young families.  I thought school started again today - apparently I've got that wrong it's tomorrow.  Still it was pleasantly busy not heaving.  However I've now fallen in love with yet another fairly local area The Langdales - lots more to explore there I think - probably from Chesters as I don't want to drive down narrow roads any more, funny how I used to love doing that!!!

I decided not to walk all the way to Elter Water today as I want to do that with Hubby and as I was parked in Chesters car park I didn't want to take up the space for too long.  

I then drove up the A593 to Coniston.  I was going to go to Monk Coniston car park for some more photos, unfortunately as I got to the turning for it, some idiot  person had stopped right on the left hand side of the junction to let several people out of their car and there was a DPS van on the otherside so I couldn't get through and there was traffic behind me!!!  Coniston village was very busy anyway.  So I just drove past and decided to leave visiting The Bluebird cafe for another day.  

Instead I stopped off at one the laybys just past Torver to take some photos (see extras) - had a little walk along the shores and then drove home via Greenodd, the A590 and The Mosses.

All in all a really lovely morning out.  I've persuaded hubby to come with me tomorrow - yeah!!!

Many thanks for dropping by and continuing to do so.  Thank you also for your lovely comments, stars and hearts - all very much appreciated and read.  Take care, stay safe and see you tomorrow.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.