Epiphany

The day of the three kings. Also the day on which the US Capitol building was stormed by right wing mobsters encouraged by #45. I read lots these days about his wiles and the systematic way in which the GOP appears to be undermining democracy. Not that there's a lot to crow about here. Populism is all around.

This sunrise was brief. As I was taking the photograph I felt the first prickles of sleety rain and the sky is grey now. This is the view from my house. The river shows up as the orange triangle.

I was woken this morning from one of those deep sleeps that sometimes happens when it's really getting up time. The phone rang at 07:15 and it just gives you such a jolt. It was the Microsoft scam. We're plagued with it just now. Yesterday, between us, we played along for about 30 minutes thinking that if we kept the scammer busy he wasn't bothering anyone else. In the end he got quite tetchy. This morning's scammer got very short shrift. They're so plausible I'm sure people must fall for it. Then again do the people who make the calls need their meagre pay to support themselves? I don't suppose they're the ones raking in the £/€/$s.

Today will be quiet unless anything unexpected happens. I've some work to do but it won't take long I hope. I've no decorations left to take down so on epiphany, apart from a few stray mince pies in the freezer, Christmas really is over.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.