Nicky and her Nikon

By NickyR

Green Parakeet

I am posting my blip earlier than usual today as we are about to leave for the airport and we will only get to our destination late tonight. Inca and Tommy are now home and are coming with us to the airport, while Luke will meet us there after working today.

When I woke up this morning I was regretting my decision to go to Switzerland. I did not want to leave Xena and I was nervous about flying with Covid being so prevalent - I have not been in a plane for 2 years now. I bought a few packs of the FFP2 masks (N95) for everyone to wear for the flight as I think they are better than usual surgical masks or fabric ones.

It’s all very easy now to travel if fully vaccinated - I downloaded an app called VeriFLY and you are able to upload all the Covid required documents (negative Covid lateral flow certificate, Swiss passenger locator forms, NHS vaccination certificates) to this app and then you only show this one app at the airport check in. It’s great that all the travel tests have been reduced as it reduces costs but clearly it makes it less safe for travellers as there are no longer pre-boarding negative tests required on returning to the U.K. (if fully vaccinated). Our Transport Secretary says that 'travel testing has outlived its usefulness' and he is probably right with so many cases at the moment. I guess this is how we increase the immunity in the community and finally overcome the virus, it does not help to have strict lockdowns anymore - although I don't fancy getting Covid but it seems inevitable these days, with one in twenty five people having Covid in England during the Christmas week, but the majority were not very ill. Vaccines are the answer.

And on that note well done to Australia, a big round of applause to them for not allowing Djokovic a visa to enter the country as he would not get vaccinated. As Nadal said such choices mean there will be consequences. 

Fi came to collect Xena this morning and she very happily ran out to greet her and get in her car. I know she will send me many updates and videos. I am already missing her!

I had so many parakeets on my feeders again this morning, they eat all the bird food in one day - they are pests, but beautiful ones.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.