ABSTRACT THURSDAY

Mr. HCB wanted to go out to buy some potting compost today, so we decided as we probably wouldn’t  be stopping for a coffee, we would go to our nearest garden centre at Wichelstowe.  It was also very frosty and very cold so we didn’t want to be out for too long.

It sort of back-fired on us a little as when we wandered around - and HarlingDarling will be glad about this - all their Christmas stock was 50% off, so some lights beckoned to me and before I knew it, they were in the trolley.  I went for a wander around the part that wasn’t anything to do with gardening - you know what I mean - books, clothes, fluffy toys, paintings etc - and spotted a hair salon - yes, we have hairdressers in our garden centres!  

As I was looking at the excellent prices, Lisa, the owner, came out to give me a card and when I asked, she said she was free and had a couple of appointments so before we knew it, we were both whisked in and our hair had been cut.  I did apologise for Mr. HCB’s hair, which I had been trimming, but watching Lisa with her scissors, I realise I hadn’t been brave enough to take enough off, which was why it looked so untidy.  When it was Mr. HCB’s turn, he just said to her, “And all I came for was some potting compost!”  We both look much more up-together now and will definitely go there again - and it’s a good excuse to have a wander around the other places.

When we got home, I was sitting having my soup and chicken (good news on the New Way of Eating front) when I noticed the lid of this beautiful little candle holder that our grandson gave me for my birthday - it was sparkling in the light and I thought it would make a good abstract shot.  Amazing how something like this can look even better when the light shines on it.  

If  you have a moment, could you please have a look at a new blipper, wrencottage, who decided she liked the sound of Blip after she read something I had put on one of my Facebook groups.  When you put the word out there it encourages others to take a look! 

“Do not allow others to diminish your light 
     due to their own fears and insecurities;
          instead, let your light shine so brightly, 
that you illuminate a pathway 
     for others to find their way 
          out of the darkness!” 
Dr. Stacey A. Maxwell,

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.