THE OAK TREE IN "MY" FIELD

I thought I had my Blip sorted when I opened the curtains this morning and saw the beautiful sunrise.  We haven’t seen the sun for so long that we had almost forgotten what it looked like, but there it was, in all its glory and it was wonderful to see - but then I went for a walk on my own - but I have put the sunrise shot in as an extra!

I had printed off a copy of the “Chicken and egg blip” from a couple of days ago, and decided to walk over and knock the door to thank the people for the eggs, which were great and to give them a copy.  Sadly there appeared to be no-one in, but we often walk that way, so will knock again sometime, although I did post the envelope through the door.  I was also going to thank them for their beautiful Nativity - and I will put a shot in that I took this morning as an extra - the sun was shining on the figures and I just thought it was too good a chance to miss - and probably will be taken down soon, as tomorrow is Epiphany.

I decided to carry on walking as it was such a beautiful morning, with a touch of frost, but warm in the sunshine.  My field isn’t that far away, so I decided to have a wander around there and was glad I had put my old shoes on, as it was quite claggy in places.  I took several shots of the oak tree, which was looking good in all its naked glory and of course, the sky was blue, which in itself was wonderful to see.  In this shot, the sun is behind the tree and you can still see some frost on the grass, so I was happy with this.

When I got home, having left Mr. HCB in the garden, contemplating enlarging our pond, the first words he said to me were “I’m not digging out the pond, because we have frogs living in it.”  Secretly, I was delighted, because I felt it would be too big a job for him, but he can be as stubborn as me sometimes, as unlikely as that may seem, and was determined to do it, even though I had asked him if it was really necessary - which was a stupid question really!  So now we await frogspawn and more little frogs to eat the slugs that decimate our plants - isn’t nature wonderful?

"Trees are poems 
     that the earth writes 
          upon the sky."
Kahlil Gibran

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.