ABSTRACT THURSDAY - IS IT DEAD?

The recycling is collected tomorrow, so we decided to do a bit of clearing out in the garage.  I have lots of jars, so sorted some out for a friend at church, which was when I found this dead spider.  I decided that if I got nothing else today, I could make a good shot for Abstract Thursday, so here it is.  Of course, I have fartnarkled it using Curves in my Snapseed app and then put a border around it, so I think it will do for the AT challenge today.

However, why does a dead spider elicit such dread in me?  Strangely enough, I can cope with a live one scuttling along the garage floor, but the sight of this dead one “made my flesh creep”.  However, this dead spider has no power to hurt me - not that a live one can either, as long as I get out of its way, but for some reason, I didn’t want to be anywhere near this one.

Another saying I thought I would look up and Mr. Google told me this:

“Also, make one's skin crawl. Cause one to shudder with disgust or fear, as in That picture makes my flesh creep, or Cockroaches make my skin crawl. This idiom alludes to the feeling of having something crawl over one's body or skin. The first term appeared in Jonathan Swift's Gulliver's Travels (1727): “Something in their countenance made my flesh creep with a horror I cannot express.” The variant dates from the late 1800s.”

Our postman arrived today with more Christmas cards, a birthday card too and some junk mail, so the post is getting through at last, although I am still waiting for cards from a friend in America, but I guess that just means I can go on celebrating my birthday for a while longer!

I then had a text message from the Rehab and Therapies Unit at our local hospital to say a Physio appointment has been booked for 8th February - they should rethink their message though, because it told me for queries I could call a certain number, but then I did, all I could do was cancel the appointment.  I then went online and it wasn’t much more helpful, so I guess I will just go on the 8th February and see what happens after that.  I consider myself to be quite “computer savvy” about these things, so feel sorry for those who cannot manage new technology.  

We haven’t heard any news yet about Keith, but are still praying that his passing will be a peaceful one - thank you, everyone for your kind comments yesterday, which helped.

“There are more things likely to frighten us 
     than there are to crush us; 
we suffer more 
     in our imagination 
          than in reality.”
Lucius Annaeus Seneca : 4BC-65AD
Roman Stoic Philosopher, Statesman and Dramatist

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.