ONE OF THE THINGS THAT KEEPS ME GOING!

Feeling a little “down” today for several reasons, one of which is that I didn’t sleep at all well because both my knees were very painful, so today I have started taking my ibuprofen tablets again, which I hate taking, but knowing I needed to go out this morning, I wanted to make sure the pain was less than it was overnight.

I have also started a new eating plan - how many years have I done this?  I am trying to cut down on carbs and definitely on chocolate, so a couple of days ago, I marked all the chocolates with their “use by” dates and they are now in a box in a high cupboard in the hall.  I had my hair cut this morning, so that should help me lose some weight!  Anita, who cut my hair, said that she liked chocolates, so perhaps I should take her one of my boxes the next time I need a haircut!  We are both dealing with similar issues in our lives, so it was good to chat to her.

I took this shot when I first got downstairs this morning, as this is what helps me get going first thing in the morning - a lovely cup of decaffeinated coffee made in my coffee machine with some frothy milk.  I then go back upstairs to my little room, where I have my Quiet Time of reading my Bible and praying and then I am ready to face the day.  I realise we all do things differently, but this works for me each morning.

We heard some sad news last night - Mr. HCB’s cricket buddy, Keith, who had a fall  a couple of days before Christmas, is now receiving palliative care at our local hospital.  We were both very upset when we heard because since Keith stopped driving about 7 or 8 years ago, Mr. HCB has driven them both up and down the M4 motorway so that they could watch cricket at Bristol - and also at Cheltenham - and they have had some wonderful days together.  Such is Keith’s wonderful Christian witness, that he has told his son and the staff at the hospital that he is “at peace and ready to go”, so we are praying for a peaceful passing for him.  

Keith is a wonderful Christian, having been in the Salvation Army all his life, and playing in the SA Band for many years.  Fortunately, his son, Graham, was able to come over from America just after the accident and has been with his Dad ever since, so that has been a time of real blessing to them both.

I realise that it may be difficult for Mr. HCB travelling on his own to Bristol once the cricket starts, so I may go down with him occasionally - just for company for him and then possibly go off to Ikea or to visit friends, especially Mr. & Mrs. T., special Blip friends, who only live about half an hour away, if they don’t mind some Blipmeets!  Time will tell.  

“Did I offer peace today? 
     Did I bring a smile to someone's face? 
          Did I say words of healing? 
Did I let go of my anger and resentment? 
     Did I forgive? 
          Did I love? 
These are the real questions.
I must trust that the little bit of love 
     that I sow now will bear many fruits, 
          here in this world and the life to come.”
Henri Nouwen

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.