TINY TUESDAY

Once again, it was raining hard this morning, but I was due to meet a friend for coffee, so wasn’t too bothered, as we were meeting in a local coffee shop.  We had lots to catch up on and we did - in fact, “we talked the hind leg off a donkey.”  Having used this expression, which just tripped off my fingers while I was typing, I asked Mr. Google what it meant and he told me this:

“The phrase originates in Ireland. Donkeys (or "asses" or "jackasses" as they are called in other parts of the world) do not naturally sit down on their rear ends. In fact, it is an extraordinary achievement to get one to do it. "Talking the hind legs off a donkey" is a literal translation of the Gaelic, which actually means "making a donkey sit down on its rear end". Thus, when a person can talk the hind legs off a donkey, they can talk so much that they could even bore a donkey into sitting down.”

I’m not sure whether this is just a legend, but perhaps one of my Irish Blip friends will know the answer.  In any event, J and I had a good time together and I don’t think that either of us was bored!  Our friendship goes back almost 50 years so we have been through a lot together.  Many years ago, our conversation centred around our small children - now it centres around our grown up children and how we are trying to grow old disgracefully - because we both think that’s the way to live.

When I got home, I decided to go for a wander around the garden, in the rain, and was sure I would find something for Tiny Tuesday - and thankfully, there is no theme set for today by Pinkhairedlady.  As I wandered along the path near the fence, I spotted these buds on our Braeburn apple tree - we had some lovely apples from it last year, and hope that the frost hasn’t damaged it for this year - although we really could do with some dry weather now - we have had quite enough rain.  Time will tell.

I was also delighted, because there was some pareidolia not only in the bud, but also in the fence behind, and I’m sure that some of you reading this will also see some faces in this shot.  Have a good week - and remember, this year’s motto is “BE KIND”.

“I cannot even imagine
     where I would be today
          were it not for that 
handful of friends 
     who have given me 
          a heart full of joy.
Let’s face it,
     friends make life 
          a lot more fun.”
Charles R. Swindoll

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.