TINY TUESDAY

I was quite excited this morning to see online the article about my 9 years of Blipping in our local paper, the Swindon Advertiser, so after I had had my shower, got dressed and put away the Christmas decorations, which didn’t get done yesterday, I decided to go for a walk down to the nearby garage to buy a copy of the paper.  Actually, I needn’t have bothered, because our next door neighbour, Rik, cheekily messaged me to say, “You made Page 3 and kept your clothes on!”  Of course, it is possible he has seen me wandering around the garden in my pink robe!  He says he will put the copy through our door when he takes their dog for a walk.

However, back to my walk - to get to the garage I have to go through the grounds of the Holiday Inn, formerly The Post House Hotel, and as it was Tiny Tuesday (but typical me, I didn’t look at the subject before I went) I thought that I would take some shots of the moss that grows on top of the fence, underneath lots of trees.  Whilst doing this, a car pulled up by the side of me and the driver wound down his window and said, “Good morning, is there something I should see that you are taking photographs of?”  I told him that the moss was very pretty when you got close to it and that not many people look at it that well.  He said he would do that in future!  I did forget to  mention Blip as I would normally do, but I did say I took a photograph every day.

Having bought the paper, I headed back as it had begun to rain, and I didn’t fancy getting too wet but it was a good move because it is now raining again!  On the way home, I received a text from Jo, the lady who presented "Girls About Town", who said that she had heard about my 9 years of Blipping on the Swindon Advertiser News on Swindon 105.5 this morning and sending her congratulations. 

If you want to read the article, you can find it here.  Daniel got most of it right, except that I didn’t say “gotten better” but the rest was fine, so I’m going to email and thank him.  I don't remember telling him my age, but he obviously worked that out from the previous article! I have put a copy of the page in as an extra - because the online version doesn’t show the selfie of Mr. HCB and me.  He did ask me about my favourite photographs and I told him that out of 3,285, it was hard to choose, but I especially liked the one of Douglas , the homeless man I met at Boscombe and the conversation with him that left such an impression on me, and of course, I was thrilled to get the little red toadstool at Coate Water, a few weeks ago.  

I found this quote about moss, which I thought was intriguing and something I had never thought of and in fact, should give us hope!

“Moss is inconceivably strong. 
Moss eats stone; scarcely anything, 
     in return, eats moss. 
Moss dines upon boulders, 
     slowly but devastatingly, 
          in a meal that lasts for centuries. 
Given enough time, 
     a colony of moss can turn a cliff into gravel, 
          and turn that gravel into topsoil.”
Elizabeth Gilbert

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.