The Edge of the Wold

By gladders

A glimmer of light?

The Bay never looks the same twice, here it is still full of water, not a sliver of mudflat exposed (that’s the tip of Humphrey Head’s nose on the right). I took advantage of a break in the showers to go for a much needed walk over the Hill, and timed it perfectly to avoid the next shower that here was heading into us from Furness.  The sun made a brief appearance, almost a blink and it was gone again as the shower clouds blotted it out.  As I waited for this, a robin was hopping around my feet, it's unusual to see one so tame up here where there isn't a procession of people with seeds in their pockets as at Leighton Moss.

It was a year ago today that I posted my last blip before an 11 month silence.  I thought I had kicked the habit, but the withdrawal symptoms never go away.

In that blip, on a bright, still Winter's day, I reflected on bigger events outside the usual confines of this journal.  One was Covid, which pre-vaccination was then taking the lives of 1000 people a day in the UK. While Omicron is scarily infectious, is there reason for hope that we may be seeing a glimmer of normality in the distance?  A combination of the efficacy of the vaccines, new anti-viral treatments, and a strain of the virus that seems to be less deadly?  Let's hope.

The second event a year ago was the insurrection in Washington.  After watching the sickening events unfold, and then finally be brought under control,  I was hopeful that there might now be a new chapter opening where there would be less division and more healing.  Since then there seems to have been a concerted attempt on one side to deny the reality of what happened, and now I must say I feel less hopeful.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.