Otter watching - again!

An uncharacteristically frosty morning starting with clear blue skies, though by mid-morning a front was clearly approaching, bringing rain by lunchtime.

After dropping Alex at Orton Pit, I headed to Ferry Meadows for a walk. The frost was already beginning to melt,  but there was still plenty to see. On the way out I spotted a bold male Stonechat, in exactly the same spot where I photographed it last year, and later I had good views of a solitary Fieldfare. In the distance I could hear shrieks of the Ring-necked Parakeets that are now established in the valley.

On my way out I also had a glimpse of a baby Otter, largely hidden by low-growing willow, but by the time I returned to their corner, the adults were out feeding on the shoals of fish (see extra) that gather where a channel from the River Nene flows into Gunwade Lake.

At times they were too close to focus on - just fantastic. Lots of people got very good views, but the display was brought to a close by a large tractor passing over the bridge, and a  man in a kayak paddling along the lake edge. To much for even the boldest of otters, who were very well aware of their admiring audience.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.