Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Colors

This is the most orange male House Finch I've ever seen.  Males of this species are usually red and brown but in some areas of the country yellow and orange color morphs are somewhat common.  Not here.  So when I saw this fine thing at my flower-pot-feeder, I grabbed a camera and got a shot.  Crappy perch, but some days you get was you get.  Considering that I didn't have a camera in hand until 3 this afternoon and that the light was already fading, I'm considering myself lucky to get any sort of shot.

I was a last-minute cancel to meet my friends for a walk this morning.  My left foot has been hurting (plantar fasciitis, I'm almost certain) and I decided 3 miles wouldn't do me any favors.  Instead, Hubs and I took the boy on a quick mile loop at the park.  And I made an appointment for next week with my podiatrist.  Probably just need a new orthotic and maybe some exercises/ice.

Tonight (finally) is our first Dog Obedience 101 class with Jax.  It is restricted to dogs between 5-12 months and only 5 dogs.  Never the less, I'm sure it will be a bit of bedlam.  Hubs will be doing the hands-on training while I observe.  And some iPhone pics of course.  

Last night after dinner, Jax had his first stink-bug experience.  It was hilarious as he tried to stomp the stinky with both feet on the carpet (after growling at it didn't accomplish anything).  The stink bug, while no doubt traumatized, was unharmed and released into the great outdoors.  Jax spent the rest of the evening on high alert.  Next summer should be verrrryyy interesting.

A dark chocolate with ginger and lime (from Vietnam) today.  Thanks to my parents for sending a stash of really investing and exotic dark chocolate!  This one sounds like a weird combo, but it is actually delicious.

xo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.