Rocky Mountain Moments

By pipersmom

Cyathia

"The showy colored parts of Poinsettias that most people think of as flowers are actually colored bracts (modified leaves).  The tiny flowers, or cyathia, are in the center of the colorful bracts."  web.extension.illinois.edu

My poinsettia this year has red bracts with cream colored spots, so I also searched that description.  It turns out it is a relatively new variation called a Picasso Poinsettia.  The whole plant can be seen in this previous blip.  Many thanks to BikerBear for her long-time hosting of Flower Fridays, in memory of her mum, Alma (aka AMC).

By the time I shot this photo at around 11 PM, I was too sleepy to post it.  This is Friday's blip, backblipped Saturday morning.  Now, on to Silly Saturday ;-)

I am grateful that I got my GERD symptoms under control with the addition of another pill to my regimen.  It's been pretty bad for the past few weeks and I'm finally feeling a lot better today.  It was first diagnosed when I was 16, so I'm used to putting up with it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.