Challenges!

Best laid plans....and all that! Well after a lie in and a lazy breakfast, Jon got started on the kitchen. I focused on cleaning our bedroom. I think I have the more difficult job, but don't tell him I said that! Thick dust, floor covered in 'stuff', but that was just my half of the bedroom. Jon's was tidier, but for him, still a big mess and very dusty. On and off I cleaned, but at 1pm the power went off! Jon had managed to get the old sink and unit out, and had put together the new unit, but without light things started to get difficult. We got the battery camping lights out, and boiled a pan of water for a cup of tea. I made lunch, but as one old surface had been removed, it left us with one tiny new bit and the cooks cabinet - and they said there is no place for my cabinet in this new kitchen! It's 'old furniture-ist', but there. Well, it doesn't have a final resting place yet, so hope for it yet.

The lights came back on at 3.40, after we had sourced candles for the evening. I popped out to the shop for an hour, and when I got back finished cleaning the bedroom. Jon, in the meantime, had fixed the corner unit in place, and positioned the sink unit. The new worktop which needs to be cut, was in place, and the sink pattern being assessed. It is one of the bits that Jon stresses about the most, so enough was done for one day, and cutting the sink hole will be done tomorrow. Henry had ro be released, with a mask on, to do some electrics, although mostly it meant running a wire down from under his floorboards and down the wall.

My fairy godmother, in the guise of Daniel, appeared at 3.30 and proves he has quite a lot of Jon's tidy gene. He tidied the lounge and it looked like a proper cleaning lady had been! Actually, I've never had a proper cleaning lady, but it's how I imagine it would look. And because I at last was able to see the wood of the coffee table, I gave up a proper polish.

Mollie cooked pizza for dinner, and now we are having nachos with cheese and salsa, and watching some more episodes of 'Around the world in 80 days'. We are enjoying it a lot - so much better when Christmas isn't going on at the same time!

Today's positive is that I drove out to deliver some flowers to my work colleague whose birthday it is today. The flowers were reduced in tesco, but I know she didn't mind that, and I met her little dog Russell...you guessed it, the Jack Russell. He is sweet and has found a good new home with my friend, as he belonged to my friend's mum, who passed away sadly on Christmas eve. So you see why I wanted to take her some flowers, as it is going to be a different birthday for her, and I wanted her to know we are thinking of her.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.