My wonderful husband…

with Henry’s help, successfully installed the sink today, and it wasn’t all plain sailing, but he managed to alter things as he went to make everything fit. His goal for the day was to have a working sink by the end, and he did just that, so I am feeling really lucky to have him. He is pleased, but would not say he was proud of himself, however much I pushed him. I am proud of him though. I know he has had some almost sleepless nights, worrying about what might go wrong, but this is another weekend and another hurdle overcome, with another big chunk of the kitchen done.

It is really looking good!

Meanwhile I spent almost all day outside. Firstly in the shed tidying, and sorting out the hydrangea and salvia cuttings I took last year, potting on the ones that had taken. Then I went outside and cleared the beans area and dug over a bit, weeding out some nettles and bramble. There is a lovely smelling shrub by the summerhouse, which I think is jasmine. It has tiny white flowers. It filled the area I was digging with a wonderful sweet scent.

Mollie went out for a long walk with Josh and when she got back, had her first go at making sushi with her sushi making kit. It looked very professional to me, and tasted good too.

I came back indoors at about 4, to find the sink in position and Jon finishing off the plumbing. There is obviously still lots to do, but we have been able to move things around again, and now all of the old kitchen units are outside. My table has been moved so I will work from the kitchen this week, and going forward I expect, while I’m in a job where working from home is compulsory.

I cooked us an egg curry on a single gas burner. Boiled the eggs and potatoes in one pan, then made the curry, put that to one side then cooked the rice. Finally quickly heated up the curry again before the rice got cold. It really isn’t ideal and I am still waiting to hear from Stoves. I sent 3 emails last week. However, I am so tried to message John Lewis, but that is totally impossible. You have to ring them. Very annoying.

The boiler saga also continues. But I’ve lit a fire again tonight, and it is still burning. Jon intends ringing the boiler supplier tomorrow.

Now something positive! The day was full of them, but something I was most excited about was how many of my hydrangea and salvia cuttings had taken. One in particular is from a big white mop head hydrangea from up the road. I hope it gives me flowers - so my positive today is I have free plants grown from other plants.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.