If you can't beat them...

By Jerra

Labradorite.

I knew a photograph wouldn't be able to do this justice, but still having a cold and not the best of weather I needed something to blip.  This is a carving of two Discus fish, members of the Cichlid family.

The stone Labradorite generally pronounced Lab-rad-or-ite, has a wonderful schiller,  bright blue or gold depending on the light and angle.  So what is schiller?   Well, I find it hard to describe, it is a flash of colour/lustre seemingly below the surface of the stone.

This is the best shot I have ever managed of it.  The polished surface of the two fish doesn't make the photography any easier.  I think the photo gives a reasonable impression of where the schiller is if not its true beauty.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.