AT THE MATCH - Hope turns to disappointment

Matchday --- Newcastle United v Cambridge United in the F A Cup.  Bus journey to Newcastle was trouble free and I got to the ground in good time.  Turnstiles were very busy with long queues - Covid passes were being checked before entry.

I wasn't in my usual season ticket seat as that had already been taken when I went online to book so I chose a seat not too far away.  Only £5 ( pensioners rate ).  Wasn't keen on the seat as the view to the left was obscured slightly by a metal bannister.  I had to peer below it or stretch up to see above it.  I will be glad to be back in my usual seat next time.
The ground was full ( over 51,000 fans ) and very noisy.  A large contingent of Cambridge fans had turned up.  They had lots of flags, yellow balloons,smoke bombs, confetti etc .

Newcastle's brand new signing Kieran Trippier was included in the side and he got a warm reception from the fans. ( He is in my collage ) As Cambridge are a League One side and Newcastle are in the Premiership - and had the home advantage -  it was expected that Newcastle would win.... but Cup games often bring an upset.

Newcastle played Ok in the first half but they squandered a lot of goal chances and at half time the score was 0 - 0.  However in the second half Newcastle  didn't " up their game " - and Cambridge did.  So it was Cambridge who scored on 56th minute. And that was how the game ended. Newcastle 0 - Cambridge 1.   A humiliating defeat for Newcastle.

So an unhappy trudge away from the ground ... ending up in Waitrose to get some cat food.  Then to Boots where I had a quick look at the Sale items.  Got two gifts to put away for next Christmas.

Weather was rainy at times today - but not while the match was on - and it was milder than it has been for a while.

Steps today - 8,795

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.