Eleven

Today I celebrate eleven years of blipping.  It comes hot on the heels of my 4000th blip on Christmas Day. 
Eleven is an odd number,  a prime number, a double digit, a cricket team,  less than a dozen,  louder than 10. I would have preferred it not to be a Sunday, as I wanted to try and find something special, and one of my favourite spots for wildlife photography gets very busy on a Sunday, so the answer was to get out early. As I stopped for a breather on the steep hill from the car park, I spotted something on the wall and couldn't believe my luck - it was this fine Kestrel which waited patiently whilst I wrestled my camera out of by bag and checked the settings before getting a shot. It even waited whilst I approached a little closer. It wasn't long before the area was heaving with joggers, cyclists, assorted, strollers, ramblers, and hikers, dogs and their walkers, wild swimmers, and photographers, not to mentions the  sound of the guns from the shooting ground. But I could relax with my blip "in the bag". One of my day's targets is in extras  - I was surprised they put in an appearance with all the disturbance, but I suppose they are used to it. Generations of Bank Voles have lived in this wall where passers by leave out bird food so it's hardly surprising they find it a comfortable lodging.
Breathing, eating, sleeping, waking and blipping are all things I do every day, so a big thank you to everyone in the Blip Community who make it possible - whatever their role in it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.