Reccy

My son is hoping to do the Rombolds Stride event in early February.
23-25 miles mainly over moors. My daughter also has an entry and l think they might do it together, if Rebecca thinks she is fit enough.
I did the walk about thirteen years ago with Rebecca who was newly  pregnant with Kitty at the time.
It was in brutal conditions ( for a softie like me) as we had to contend with deep snow and lots of ice, at one point up on the highest part, we were nearly up to our waist in snow. 
The event is for runners and walkers, Mr P ran it, went back home, had a bath and something to eat then came and found me as l descended the moor at Burley Woodhead. He walked the last six miles with me and got me up Otley Chevin at the steep part, l may have been crying at that point :-)
The reward was that l could jog down into Guiseley for the finish.
Today l drove up to the moor to reccy part of the route for him, we are hoping to walk some of it next weekend.
As l parked up in the lay-by next to Sue Smith’s horse racing stables l saw one of her horses being ridden across the road so l opened the gate for the rider.
Got my shot.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.