A soft day

A soft day, thank God!
A wind from the south
With a honeyed mouth;
A scent of drenching leaves,
Briar and beech and lime,
White elder-flower and thyme
And the soaking grass smells sweet,
Crushed by my two bare feet,
While the rain drips,
Drips, drips, drips from the eaves.

A soft day, thank God!
The hills wear a shroud
Of silver cloud;
The web the spider weaves
Is a glittering net;
The woodland path is wet,
And the soaking earth smells sweet
Under my two bare feet,
And the rain drips,
Drips, drips, drips from the leaves.
Winifred M Letts


Bare feet were not in evidence- the wellies were firmly on. The wind has dropped, the murk come down and a soft rain is falling. 
I'm going off piste for a couple of days - over the border to County Limerick. Three wells dedicated to St Gobnait beckon. I need to know if they're there or not - two out of three I reckon but in what state I don't know. There might be a few others on the list! We're rendezvousing with our pals in Macroom and will take it from there. Wellies, mac and well kit packed. Catch you mid week.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.