Basking in the sun.

Not at all sure what I meant to do today. All I know is I didn't do it.  It's been overcast and gloomy and my knee is hurting so I spent a lot of time loafing on the sofa with a heat pad which was pleasant. Eventually dragged myself out in the car intending to go to Strath to photograph lichen. Got to the end of the street and turned on automatic pilot in the wrong direction.  Never one to retrace my steps off I went  towards Freuchie and headed for Charlottetown as usual.  Wasn't going to the gravel pit though lichen or no lichen. I took the road that goes up past Rossie Hall.  Haven't been there for ages.  Stopped to photograph the Lomonds in uninspiring light then homed in on some horses which had more appeal. Drove on and parked near the junction with the Muchty road and had a little walk along a field edge.  I liked the geometry but the light was so dull.  Turned round and saw some sun rays hitting the side of East Lomond. Light at last !   Came back to the car feeling that one or two shots weren't so bad.  I was just about to get in  when the sun suddenly burst through in glorious warm winter sunlight.  Hurried back to the field and clicked away to my heart's content.  My favourite though was a tree I've photographed before basking in the unexpected sunshine. Came home and was inspired to pull up some more periwinkle even though the sun had vanished behind the hill.  How glad I am that I set off in the wrong direction.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.