Gas

Tree fellers were out on the old railway today - and before anyone points out that there are four in the picture, only three of them had cutting equipment! 

They were removing dead trees and branches that had been marked with fluorescent paint several weeks ago. Although they were shredding the smaller branches, to judge from earlier work, the larger branches and trunks are being left in situ. Although Penicuik folk may take some for burning, they will make great habitat for insects and, hence, contribute to the local ecosystem. 

Later on my walk, I thought that I could smell gas as I was passing some small gas installation. Since its doors had a sign saying "If you smell gas call 0800-111-999" in big letters, I thought that I'd do the responsible thing. It took a frustrating amount of time to get through and convey my location to them (given that I'd told them the searchable code on the installation), but they said that they'd send someone out.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.