Crystal Visions

Central Pennsylvania was hammered on this day with an ice storm that began sometime in the night and continued well on into the afternoon. Conditions became treacherous. The road was ice. The drive way was ice. The steps were ice.

I got up my courage around mid-morning to crawl down the side of the front porch and scrunch, scrunch, scrunch my way through the icy snow on the grass to get some photos. I wanted to go for my daily walk but it was just too dangerous.

Finally, around 3 p.m., it started to thaw a bit here. It began to drip, and by 4:30, I was able to get outside for my walk. "I have been walking EVERY SINGLE DAY since last FEBRUARY, and THIS DAY IS NOT STOPPING ME!" I said to my husband, quite forcefully!

The main road was wet in the middle, but passable, and messy at the edges. The side roads were still impossible: a sheet of ice, with a slick layer of melt-water on top. So I ended up walking right down the main road, watching and listening carefully for cars. Thankfully, the ice melted off the trees somewhat before it got windy later; we kept power, and no trees fell!

For my soundtrack song, I picked something by Crystal Gayle. Here she is with Donovan, singing Catch the Wind.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.