PandaPics

By pandammonium

Floury baps

You’ll recall my purple carb-free burger buns, of course. Now that I’m no longer low-carbing it, I can use actual wheat flour to bake with. The vegan aspect is not without its challenges, mind.

Anyhoo, I made what Paul Hollywood calls ‘floury baps’, but what I call ‘buns’. They have sugar and fat in them. Sugar means the yeast can get guzzling straight away because it doesn’t have to convert the starches in the flour to sugars it can eat, resulting in shorter proving times. Fat prevents long chains of gluten being formed, which affects the texture and bubbliness of the bread in some way. The dough was really sticky, too, which I think contributes to a softer crust.

When they came out of the oven, they smelt really nice – ‘bready’, as Mr Pandammonium put it. Mr Pandammonium wondered if they were overdone, but I pooh-poohed that idea. Gentle prodding revealed the crust was soft. After they’d sat for five minutes, we sampled one each.

‘You can make them again,’ said Mr Pandammonium.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.