Edible Bed

I may be wrong (I'm not) but I think Spring had another go at starting today (it did).

I took this quick snap at a quarter to 7 at night, because I was so happy to see and feel evening sun being proper evening sun. It sounds totally barking to be so obsessed with the weather but it has been so crazy recently and we're all so desperate for some warmth.

The sky was a lovely blue all day with just light, fluffy clouds. Over the day the wind moved round to the south and eased considerably.

I spent all afternoon and most of the evening in the garden, slowly removing layers of clothes and noticing that things weren't getting blown over anymore. I even rolled up my sleeves at one point!

We now have a new bed that is filled with lavender, rosemary, borage, hyssop and garlic. It's what I'm calling my edible bed, because it's all herbs. And it's right next to the patio and the table - clever, huh?
The badgers have been visiting and I'm scared that the newly-planted stuff will have weak roots and will get thrown around the garden tonight so I made a weird fortress around the new stuff with plant labels, plant pots, tubs, chairs and a bike. If anything gets dug up tonight the badgers get some serious points for persistence.

I also lifted some of the patio to make the growing area by the house wall a bit bigger.

Today's biggest thrill was noticing that some seeds that I'd gathered from flowers last Autumn are actually turning into plants!

Another loaf of bread made tonight - which looks a lot better than yesterday's (although that one did taste good - it just looked odd)

Richard came home from work at 4pm and took Tess and the dog to the beach and I had a really lovely hour just feeling my way through what I want to do in the garden and enjoying my own head space. It's so nice to switch everything off for a while and just be.

(I may have said that before!)

It's strange how I enjoy solitude and my own company so much.


I'll have to stop there - I'm absolutely dying for a wee





Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.