Seafield at low tide.

I had a bit of toothache last night and woke up with it still there. A recurring problem I've had before and have always treated myself. This time however it triggered me to look for a dentist just in case.  I am a registered NHS patient but the practise I belong to is closed at present. I rang up to check if this was still the case.  It is but I can get treatment in an emergency which sounds difficult to access and this isn't exactly an emergency anyway.  Nevertheless I began phoning dentists and found there are no NHS vacancies in Fife at all at the moment.  Not much of a surprise. Getting a private appointment wasn't easy either.  The best I could find was two months away in the middle of March.  If I clear up the present problem myself that will do so fingers crossed.
Luckily I hadn't much planned for today.  Exercises were done and some stumps cut down ready for Alan but that was it.   After lunch I went to Seafield beach in Kirkcaldy.  There was a coal mine there which went miles out under the Forth when I first came to Fife.  The Thatcher years got rid of that and "executive" houses  now stand where the pit was.  The only reminder of it are black coal dust tidelines on the beach which now has parking and picnic tables. The tide was fully out and my intention was to photograph the tidelines as they are a surprisingly photogenic feature.  That done, I walked along picking up sea glass for my big new sweetie jar and keeping an eye out for bits of old LInks pottery still being washed up.  Didn't find any but was pleased to see more shells than there were in the past.  Went down to the water to look at seabirds feeding and became entranced by the expanse of wet sand with all its textures and patterns. I think it qualifies for a "Breaking the rules" assignment as there is no real focal point.  So the tidelines can wait for another day.  As I left two wild swimmers arrived and took to the Forth.  Rather them than me !
I went back to my cosy house and tea and toast.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.