It's my Birthday .........

....... strangely, this happened on the same day last year too - spooky!!!!!
(61 today but ssshhhhh - don't tell anyone - it's a secret!!)


Everything I wrote then still applies now (except that I am another year older) so I will not repeat (if you would like to read it please take a look).
Just to add ...... "thanks for having me, Mum, I love you lots!!" xx

If you have looked back then the observant amongst you will notice that I have changed a tiny (??) bit.

In July last year I decided to GGIAD** - I have been colouring (not dyeing , although Himself says there is no difference) my hair since I was in my early 40's but that has really become a complete pain - my hair grows very quickly and, from having 5% grey years ago, I now have 5% non-grey - so a biting of the bullet was needed.

I 'bravely' went to a local hairdressing salon where they looked at me like I was crazy (I suspect not many women want their hair dyed white/grey) and it was eventually decided to strip out all the colour I had put in - to make a long story short(er) not all the colour came out even after three hours and three treatments - and my head resembled a lemon meringue pie - white on top with the bottom five inches a bright yellowy colour.
Just a slight panicky feeling inside!!!!

The young girl who was doing it (she had orange and magenta hair!) looked terrified but I told her we looked a bit like a couple of tasty desserts!! She looked slightly relieved!! Push comes to shove I can always have it dyed or cut incredibly short!

Out came the colour swatches and there was a silver grey one - yep, that's the one I want, I said - oh dear (she said) that's just for highlighting and streaking ..... hmmmmmmm so let's just pretend I want my whole head streaked!!!! The Boss was consulted, all the stylists were asked and I offered to sign a waiver!!!!

Silver dye was applied, I waited and watched in the mirror - Miss Magenta kept peering at me around the corner - I suspect she was more worried than I was ....
After spending five and a half hours in there I walked out the door with my new (old?) look .......

That was eight months ago and I still sometimes catch sight of myself and get a bit of a shock but the amount of time and money I have saved is huge - those who know me also know that I am a jeans and sweatshirt kinda woman with a 'wash & go' attitude toward my hair - my silver surfer look is so much easier and now all I have to do is have it trimmed regularly - simples!!!!

EDIT: Looking at the photo my Mum has posted I find it a bit worrying that my hair style hasn't changed that much even if the colour has!! What goes around, comes around it seems. :-))


To all the other April the Sixers who are also celebrating today - Happy Birthday!!!


** Go grey in a day!!!!



NIKON D90 : f/2.8 : 1/100" : 50mm : ISO 400

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.