If you can't beat them...

By Jerra

Helleborus niger "Diva"

Another dry pleasant day.  I could get used to this.   Wandering round the garden I started by looking for signs of the natural world waking.  Instead I decided on this shot of the hellebore Diva.

Somebody is thinking "hang on, he blipped that and it was pure white".  Correct.  This shot illustrates a couple of things that make Hellebores attractive to me.  The first is that once the flowers have been fertilized they don't collapse and disappear like so many flowers do.  The second is the colour change, most of them subtly change the colour once fertilized.  Why I don't know but one idea I have is it tells pollinators not to waste time on flowers that don't need to be pollinated.   The clear white of Diva has become a lemon yellow.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.