A first visit to RSPB Ham Wall

I was unsure whether to brave the freezing fog that was forecast for early morning in Somerset. In the end, by the time we had left the house it was mostly lifting, and when we got there the sun was out.

Sheol had been there since early doors, and has been fairly regular here recently. He kindly led us around the lakes and hides before leaving us to our own devices in the late afternoon. The main is a marsh harrier, and the extras include Glastonbury Tor from the site, and either a Great White Heron or an Egret (and there's my birding expertise...).

The other extras, taken after Sheol had hit the road, show some of the murmuration in the evening. Janet had not seen one before and as the birds flew close by the noise was electrifying.

Before I sign this one off, thank you all for my blip day hearts, stars and celebratory messages. I couldn't quite get to the top of popular ;-), but I was thrilled to read all your kind remarks. I am grateful for them and for you.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.